Posted in Daily Prompt, Nutrition, Writing

Daily Prompt: Expert

Am I an expert on anything? I guess it depends on who you’re asking?

Parenting? No, but some look at my awesome kids and think I have some kind of magic trick that I used to make them be as awesome as they are. My oldest daughter is taking some early childhood development classes in high school and her teacher will ask her what it is I did to make my kids so cool. The best answer I have – common sense and a lot of logic. I had my own childhood and it was filled with ups and downs just like everyone else. I figured out what seemed to work and what didn’t and applied that knowledge to their upbringing. There’s my big magic trick.

Writing? Definitely not, but I had to do so much of it while I was earning my degrees it just made sense to keep going. I still struggle with vocabulary usage, where to put a comma, and finding my niche in the writing world. Just because I’m known as the walking dictionary around here doesn’t mean I know all there is to know about the art. I often find myself directing the kids to Google to find the answer they’re seeking. Nonetheless, I’ve found a love for writing and will continue to develop it as long as I am able to do so.

Healthy Living? Hardly, but I’m working on that one…probably more than the others. What I mean is, I’m not sitting around reading up on how to be a better mom or how to spit out the next best-seller, but I am learning more and more about living a healthier life everyday and figuring out how to apply what I’ve learned to my daily routine. I’m systematically increasing the amounts of exercising I’m doing and pay more attention to what I’m putting into my body –  more than I ever have before. Maybe one day I’ll be able to say I’m an expert on healthy living – at least as much as it applies to me.

Out of all the various facets of my life, there is one thing that I do think I’m an expert at – listening. I can listen to anyone’s “side of the story” and at least empathize with their unique situation. It can be difficult at times, but I can always see things from someone else’s point of view once I’ve heard it. With that, I have been able to defend most positions, even when they are on the opposite side of the spectrum from my own. It’s one of the main ways I’m able to ignore and avoid conflict…especially on social media. Election seasons are the worst, particularly the one we are currently in, and it can sometimes be overwhelming to keep my mouth shut. However, I do and I will because I know that each of those posts reflect feelings and thoughts that are based on so many factors that are foreign or unfamiliar to me like life experience, race, socioeconomic status, age and gender. Many people have come to me for advice and I will give it to them when I have something for them, but if nothing else…I will always be there to listen. Sometimes, that’s all someone needs.

Author:

What can I say about me? I am a happy wife and a happy mother of four. God has blessed me with love from family and friends. I like to learn new things and share with others. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

