Posted in Nutrition, One Simple Change

Top 5 Ways I Avoid Fruits & Veggies

When it comes to fruits and vegetables, I am pickier than a 2-year-old. I know that they’re good for me. I know that they contain ingredients, nutrients, etc. I know that I should be consuming a lot more than I do now. However, I’ve never had a lot of success doing it…until now. But first, here are the top 5 ways I avoid them:

1) Just Say No…

Quite simple really, if I don’t like the taste or the texture, I just won’t eat them. Need some examples? In the (fresh) fruit category we have: peaches, pears, cranberries, oranges, papayas, melons, cantaloupe, cherries, prunes, dates, apricots and many more. I put “fresh” in parentheses because I don’t mind canned peaches and I do like a few of the above mentioned fruits in juice form. On the vegetable side we have: tomato, beet, sweet potatoes, cabbage, asparagus, and kale. I’m sure I missing a few veggies for the list but I think you get my point.

 

2) When I’m Done With…

Oh, this is a good one and happens all the time. I’ll walk into the kitchen and grab a portion of the main dish and maybe a side. Then I’ll say, “I’ll come back and grab some of those <insert veggie> after I finish this. Many times my walk-off is slightly validated by the fact that said veggies will make whatever bread I’m having too soggy for consumption. (I know some of you like wet bread, but I do not.) However, I still end up veggie-less because I’m full from the other foods I just stuffed my face with – sometimes on purpose.

 

3) Bad Teeth…

This one is kind of legit too. I really do have bad teeth and some veggies get stuck during the chewing process. Especially uncooked carrots and celery. Sometimes they hit the wrong spot and I end up in pain for a couple of days. What can I do? I don’t have a lot of money to spend on dental work right now…so cooked veggies are a must most of the time. Which brings me to…

 

4) Lack of Skills…

I don’t do the cooking around here. Just about everybody else in the house takes care of that and I make up for it in other ways. I can cook, but it usually requires a recipe if I’m in charge of making it. As long as everyone is okay with me not cooking, then I’m okay with that too. Nonetheless, if I want to whip up something for myself and I’m by myself, chances are good that I’ll skip the veggies for something easier to prepare.

 

5) Ten Million Pills…

Finally, the pills. I’ve tried a bunch of different supplements. At one point in my life, I was working on a plan that had me taking 27 different pills a day! That is not a good thing period, but especially not cool for someone who really dislikes taking pills in general. If I’m going to take part of my nutrition in the form of the pill…it needs to be worth it.

Here’s My Big Secret – There Isn’t One

For the past 30 days or so, I’ve been taking Juice Plus. In just 4 capsules a day, I’m adding loads of nutrition to my highly-lacking diet. It’s not a miracle diet and I haven’t lost or gained any weight. What it is – it’s my one simple change. It’s just one step in the right direction. And it’s only just the beginning! More simple changes to come…

Questions: Do you avoid fruits & veggies as bad as I do or is it just me? What ways/excuses do you use?

Author:

What can I say about me? I am a happy wife and a happy mother of four. God has blessed me with love from family and friends. I like to learn new things and share with others. Life is good!

Leave a Reply

